Airelle Blouse

20 Aug

1-07-13-airielle-blouse-pattern4Before summer disappears entirely I thought I’d get in one last summer blouse to com: the Airelle Blouse from Deer&Doe. I last made this blouse a few years ago – a sleeveless version and a 3/4 sleeve version. I never was 100% happy with either of them however- the fit was off and they’ve been long since taken to the charity shop. But after having made so many Datura blouses in the last year I thought I’d revisit Airelle.

Straight way I saw that previously I’d made size 40/42 (bust/tummy)- while my current measurements fit a 38/40 (bust/tummy). But knowing that I made the 38 for  the Datura regardless of what size the waist measurements indicate I should make, I thought I’d have a go at a straight up 38. I knew that I wanted a sleeveless version without a collar, so began picking through my fabric collection.

I pulled out some embroidery anglaise I used for the yoke of my Ruby dress last summer and knew that it would be perfect for the back yoke. So then proceeded to try and find something to pair with it. In the end I chose to use this pretty floral I picked up for a screaming £1 a meter (down from £15) in the Boxing Day sales at John Lewis. I thought they’d look quite dainty together. I’m not overly fond of neck facings at the moment so opted to use self made bias binding on the neck and armholes.

I’m really pleased with the results – size 38 was definitely the right choice and I love the fabrics together. You’ll have to excuse the selfies however – my resident photographer seems to have a paid job which is more important that fanning my sewing/modeling ego.

4 Responses to “Airelle Blouse”

  1. Lynsey August 20, 2016 at 10:40 pm #

    Lovely top, I think the fabrics look great together and that is an amazing bargain!

    Like

    • rosemary August 20, 2016 at 11:41 pm #

      Thanks, I love it when I can find a pattern that goes well with mixing and matching fabric. And of course love getting fabric on sale!

      Like

  2. char83 August 22, 2016 at 2:39 pm #

    I loved the Airelle blouse. Enjoy wearing your version.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Three summer work tops | The Monthly Stitch - August 20, 2016

    […] summer decide to revisit us here in  London. I’ve written more about Sorbetto, Datura and Airelle over on my blog – with plenty of photos and a bit of random commentary on fit and size etc […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

