Quilting a hug

25 Aug

I’m not much of a quilter. It doesn’t excite me like making clothes. But sometimes I have a reason: a friend has a baby or there is a need  for a small quilt somewhere. I have however been really enjoying my recent quilting attempts: I’ve been  quilting a hug.

That perhaps needs an explanation. See my BFF has just moved to Edinburgh which is all very exciting (and gives me a wonderful new holiday destination) but she is sooooo far away. I decided to make her a throw from the scraps of the flannel pajamas I’ve made in the last year: her Christmas pajamas, her sister’s  pajamas, mine and G.’s pajamas (and my ma’s too) plus the scraps from the matching piping. That way when she’s all wrapped up in it, it’ll be like a giant hug from the people that love her.

I cut as many 6 inch squares from my scraps as possible. Once I had an rough idea of how many squares I actually had, I was then able to work out how i wanted to arrange them. I sewed them together with a 1/4 inch seam so each square is 5 1/2 inches. Size wise its12 squares long and 10 squares wide. Plus I put one long panel down each of the ends.

I got a plush blue fleece for the back and bound the edges with the last remnants of the scraps.  The binding isn’t done well and the corners are just atrocious – but hopefully no one will look to closely. I’m really pleased that I ‘ve managed to use up the scraps from six projects! Plus the quilt look amazing. Now my BFF and her BF and two dogs will be snug as bugs in a rug, when they curl up on the couch, wrapped in one giant big hug.

2 Responses to “Quilting a hug”

  1. Lynsey August 26, 2016 at 8:58 am #

    Gorgeous quilt, I’m a huge tartan fan and this looks really cosy and it’s so thoughtful

    Like

    • rosemary August 26, 2016 at 11:34 am #

      Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

