Sunshine & lollipops

31 Aug

blue ginger dollSeveral months ago I picked up this fantastic organic interlock knit from Bizzy and Boos Fabric. I knew right away what I wanted to make with it: version B of Bonnie by Bluegingergirl. The only question was what fabric to use for the neckline and waistband. Having bought fabric a number of times from Bizzy and Boo, and knowing that Natasha was quite good at making recommendations, I asked for her help recommending the right shade of yellow ribbing. She suggested the ‘gold’ ribbing would be a nice, somewhat muted match. And it works perfectly together I think.

Version B has a scoop neck, 3/4 length sleeves and is cropped at the waist. The pattern is supper easy to follow and very quick to sew. I used a ‘jersey’ needle (80/12) on my machine – I would have liked  smaller one but that’s all I had left in my stash. And used the overlock stitch for all the seams, coupled with a twin needle to finish around the neck and sleeve hem..

Based on my measurements I was somewhere in between the 8 and 10. I decided to cut the 8 and, if need be, let out the side seams a touch around the waist. But only once I had cut it all out did I realise that it only had  a 1/4″ seam allowance which doesn’t give any wiggle room.

Cropped waists aren’t really my style as I like my tummy well and truly covered  and I’m not really sure what I was thinking when I chose the cropped option. I mean it looks super duper cute with my low waist ginger jeans but really I’d never wear it. In the back of my head I can hear my ma admonishing me that my kidneys are going to get cold. It does however make me  think of sunshine and lollipops and roller-skates

So I decided to lengthen it. If figured to make it look intentional I’d unpick the ribbing and attach a new band. I  cut out a 6 1/5″ band of the stripes (but on the vertical) for the front and back, and joined these at the side before attaching to the top, and then reattaching the ribbing. However in the process of unpicking it I definitely stretched the top piece and I’m not pleased with how it looks with the panel. Rather irking as I love the fabric. I suspect you’ll be seeing quite a few more in the months to come, through  not the cropped version.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

3 Responses to “Sunshine & lollipops”

  1. Siobhan S September 1, 2016 at 12:58 am #

    I often wonder what happened to BlueGingerDoll, as she seemed to have disappeared without a trace. Shame about the cropped version – I hate exposing my tummy too. It would look lovely with a high waisted skirt or pants!

    Like

    • rosemary September 1, 2016 at 8:40 am #

      I know it took me a long time to find someplace that had any of her patterns left and I’m so glad I did. I tried it with my high waist ginger jeans but the bottom of the top and the top of the jeans sat awkwardly with each other unfortunately.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #Top5Misses | Thimble & Threads - December 13, 2016

    […] Cropped, version B of Bonnie Top – The clue is in the word ‘cropped’ – what was I thinking? That means exposed belly! And my attempts to rectify the situation didn’t really work.I love the fabric and the pattern but this specific top went to the charity shop. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

