TWEED

1 Sep

Sewing shopI’ve just returned from an amazing holiday to Edinburgh to visit my BFF, which of course required a trip to the fabric shops. There don’t appear to be many options in Edinburgh, however the one and only shop we did go to, I was giddy with excitement in. This is a picture of me when I was simply ready to burst with excitement.

Edinburgh Fabrics has an amazing collection of Harris tweed and Moon tweed. And in the end I came away with four pieces, plus one for my BFF which I’m going to make into cute little winter shorts. So I have four new garments to add to my wardrobe planning.

First up is this amazing Harris tweed.  While £38 a very narrow meter, it practically jumped out, ran over and climbing into my bag the moment we walked in the store. I’m now searching for the perfect A-line skirt to make it up in.

Then this beautiful Moon wool in a heather color on sale for £25 a meter. This is going to Colette’s Phoebe dress.

We’d spent the previous day in Walker Slater, and it was sooo inspiring. So when I saw this subtle tartan (again £25 a meter) from Moon I knew it was going to  be the  Pleated pencil skirt  from Delia Creates.

I love flecked wool so was really excited to find this beautiful charcoal Moon wool with tiny turquoise, red and yellow flecks (£25 a meter). It may be another pleated pencil skirt or it may be a little blazer.

Finally is this lovely Moon wool my BFF got (alas not on sale, so £35), which are going to be for some Maritime shorts.

 

9 Responses to “TWEED”

  1. felicia September 1, 2016 at 4:58 pm #

    Wow, fabulous fabrics. As a Canadian, I would have thought Edinburgh would be full of gorgeous wools, especially Harris tweeds.

    Like

    • rosemary September 2, 2016 at 8:50 am #

      Me too! It was amazing for tweeds, but just not as many fabric shops as I had expected.

      Like

  2. craftysewandsewindorset September 1, 2016 at 6:46 pm #

    Expensive shopping trip but beautiful fabrics, very jealous!!

    Like

    • rosemary September 2, 2016 at 8:51 am #

      It did indeed break the bank, but I hope to make things I’ll be wearing for the next 10 years… Fingers crossed.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Linda Wilson September 2, 2016 at 12:14 am #

    So pleased you obviously enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh fabrics. Looking forward to seeing what you decide to do with the fabric. 🙂

    Like

    • rosemary September 2, 2016 at 8:51 am #

      It was great Linda! I’m going to do a few practice runs before I dare to cut it up!

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Understated elegance | Thimble & Threads - November 26, 2016

    […] I was ready venture into the land of sewing with tweed. I knew as soon as I found this fabric on my trip to Edinburgh that I wanted a pencil skirt out of it. It’s a light weight wool from Moon Yorkshire Tweed […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

