A silky Buchanan

10 Sep

buchanan-lineA few years ago I picked up this beautiful habutai silk in India for only Rs 570 a meter (approx £5.50). This week I pulled it off the shelf to make myself a silky Buchanan  dressing gown, from gather. I had planned to make the dressing gown out of some other fabric I recently got from a colleague, but alas I totally screwed up when cutting it out  due to a combination of feather-brain and problematic fabric.

Having made G. a silk robe earlier this year, I knew I had to approach this carefully. I vowed to take my time and proceed with the utmost caution. The pattern directions certainly helped with this, as each and every  step is explained in detail with corresponding drawings.

I finished my seams mostly by zigzagging, although I used French seams for the shoulders, and a blind hem. I realised however that I didn’t have any matching thread, so the top stitching is a slightly off green, but I think it works. It was slow going as every stitch required a lot of pressing. I found using the steam of the iron (rather than actually ironing)  much more effective for removing wrinkles on the body of the robe. But it did come together like a charm, and I absolutely love it!

 

 

5 Responses to “A silky Buchanan”

  1. Lynsey Welch September 10, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

    Looks great, your fabric is a super colour and it must be gorgeous to wear

    Like

    • rosemary September 10, 2016 at 10:30 pm #

      Thank you! I love the color and it feels amazing – to be honest I haven’t taken it off all day!

      Like

  2. Siobhan S September 11, 2016 at 8:00 am #

    A silk dressing gown, how elegant! Yours is lovely.

    Like

    • rosemary September 11, 2016 at 10:00 am #

      Thank you! It feels very decadent!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A new dressing gown | The Monthly Stitch - September 10, 2016

    […] I made myself version 2 with the insert pockets out of some lovely silk and I am sooo pleased with the results. It was slow going but the pattern is just brilliant with such detailed instructions. You can see more photos over on my blog: https://thimbleandthreads.wordpress.com/2016/09/10/a-silky-buchanan/. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

