A wearable muslin of Biscayne blouse

13 Sep

I started this project to just test the size of my new Biscayne blouse  pattern from hey June and practice a few new features (invisible button placket and welt pocket), before cutting into some really gorgeous new fabric. But it turned out well enough that I decided to finish it up and stick it in the closet!

Its a cotton lawn fabric  I got on ebay years ago to make a dress for my BFF and the bountiful leftovers have been sitting on the shelf ever since. Biscayne came as a PDF pattern which normally I avoid like the plague, but it was really easy to tape together. Plus I had some lovely Swedish tracing paper which the Village Haberdashery sent me for free with another order.

Luckily there is an online sew-along which I could check out – especially useful when trying new things! I was exceptionally careful in marking my plackets and the very detailed instructions and corresponding illustrations really did make all the difference. As the fabric is such a light color and my interfacing is white, it was quite  easier to transfer the markings .  Finishing the placket gave me a real sense of achievement, its been a while since I challenged myself and tried something new. I’m quite pleased with it, though I had a little trouble tucking the tail of the placket in nicely. And although I struggled to get the folds of the welt pocket to meet perfectly in the middle,  it’s not so noticeable thanks to the design of the fabric.

There are only two niggling things I’m not pleased about with this wearable muslin. The first is my gathering on the front it a bit bunched , so in places it looks like the fabric has been accidentally tucked, rather than gathered. Second is that when I planned to make a muslin, I hadn’t expected to finish it so didnt have any matching thread to hand. The closest I had was a gray – not too bad, but still I’d prefer a closer match.

The pattern suggests choosing your side based on your bust measurements and if you’re in between the sizes, to  size down. So I went with size small. While this fits perfectly over the shoulders, bust and waist, I found it much to small at the hips. So as I sewed the side seam, I graded from a 5/8″ to a 3/8″ seam allowance. On my next version I’ll grade out the the size medium at the hips.

Final verdict: I love this pattern and cant wait to get going on the next one!

 

7 Responses to “A wearable muslin of Biscayne blouse”

  1. Naomi September 13, 2016 at 9:30 pm #

    I can totally understand why you love this! A great addition to the wardrobe, look forward to seeing the next one.

    Like

    • rosemary September 13, 2016 at 10:09 pm #

      I know right? I think there’s going to be quite a few more. I’ve already started on the next one!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynsey September 14, 2016 at 8:20 am #

    This looks a super pattern with extra details and is definitely on my to sew list, if only the summer lasted longer 😦 or if it had sleeves. Your version looks fab, I think it could be a good wardrobe staple.

    Like

    • rosemary September 14, 2016 at 9:02 am #

      You’re totally right about the sleeves I was just think about whether I could draft some.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The real deal – Biscayne blouse | Thimble & Threads - September 17, 2016

    […] never made a hidden button placket or a welt pocket. I decided to be diligent and make a wearable muslin of the small to check fit and practice the new techniques before using my precious new fabric. […]

    Like

  2. #Top5Hits | Thimble & Threads - December 6, 2016

    […] blouse – The design of this top is just great and I’ve made myself three versions (1, 2 & […]

    Like

  3. All good things come in threes + matching accessories | Thimble & Threads - December 22, 2016

    […] in the summer. I decided to treat myself to it and make my third Biscayne blouse seeing as versions 1 &2 were such smash hits. As with the last two, I’ve merged size small for the top half of […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

