The real deal – Biscayne blouse

17 Sep

As soon as I saw the Yucca – Manu Forest fabric I knew I had to have it. I’ve never used voile and as I was lusting after the fabric online, I couldn’t be sure what it actually felt like. So I looked for patterns that specifically referenced using it. Then I came across the Biscayne blouse from hey June, which I figured would be perfect with a cardigan in autumn/winter. I loved the simplicity of the design plus I’d learn a few new techniques as I’ve never made a hidden button placket or a welt pocket. I decided to be diligent and make a wearable muslin of the small to check fit and practice the new techniques before using my precious new fabric.  I’m glad I did – while the small is a perfect fit for most of the blouse, I really need to grade out to a medium at the hips. Plus its always good to practice new things before using your favorite new fabric.

I really took my time cutting out my pieces  and was surprised to discover that with creative placement of pattern pieces, I needed much less that the required 2 metres. While my fabric is 44″ wide I only used  1.5 metres. I considered the layout for quite a while –  to ensure optimal flower placement, and cutting out the placket piece so that it wouldn’t jar too much with the centre front.

I was exceptionally careful in marking my plackets but it was hard to transfer precise markings onto the black fabric, as my white marker doesnt have a fine tip. In the end I had to rely on measuring the distances between each fold line. It wasn’t perfect, and I had to adjust it a few times to get it to overlap nicely. My welt pocket however came together much better than last time, and I’m quite pleased with it this time.

I put in three rows of gathering stitches, in hot pink so I could pick them out easily later on. And this time I managed to get the gathering right – no snags! Do you sometimes find that by sewing very slowly and carefully, your project actually comes together much quicker? That’s how it felt with this top.  I’m really pleased with the overall fit – I used size small for most of the top, grading out to medium at the hips.

I  love the fabric and I love the design – its turned out exactly as I pictured it in my mind.

 

 

11 Responses to “The real deal – Biscayne blouse”

  1. Naomi September 17, 2016 at 8:39 pm #

    Stunning! Well done you.

    Like

    • rosemary September 17, 2016 at 8:41 pm #

      Thank you! I love it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Siobhan S September 18, 2016 at 12:35 am #

    I can see why you had to have that fabric! It is so cute.

    Like

    • rosemary September 18, 2016 at 10:01 am #

      It feels amazing too!

      Like

  3. Lynsey September 19, 2016 at 7:29 am #

    Fab top, it fits you so well and that fabric is lovely, looks a perfect match to this pattern which is on my to sew list. Gorgeous!

    Like

    • rosemary September 19, 2016 at 8:31 am #

      Thank you so much! I really love the fabric with this pattern.

      Like

  4. jendavismiller September 19, 2016 at 3:33 pm #

    What a lovely top. Great fabric and impeccable finishes.

    Like

    • rosemary September 19, 2016 at 3:35 pm #

      Thank you! i’m really pleased with it (and I’m wearing it as I type)!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! September 24, 2016 at 5:25 am #

    Oh my! not only do you have a button placket, but you have a welt pocket too – lovely fabric and lovely finishing work!

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #Top5Hits | Thimble & Threads - December 6, 2016

    […] blouse – The design of this top is just great and I’ve made myself three versions (1, 2 & […]

    Like

  2. All good things come in threes + matching accessories | Thimble & Threads - December 22, 2016

    […] summer. I decided to treat myself to it and make my third Biscayne blouse seeing as versions 1 &2 were such smash hits. As with the last two, I’ve merged size small for the top half of the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

