In search of the perfect boat neck

23 Oct

I’ve been searching for the last year for a pullover boat neck top pattern. I ended up asking the ladies on the Monthly Stitch Facebook group for their recommendations as I wasn’t having much luck finding what I had in mind. They introduced me to several potential patterns I wasn’t familiar with, which I’ve filed away as future potential projects:

 

line_drawings_24_Sept_2014_largeThe winning suggestion was Bonnie by Bluegingergirl. But having found the right pattern, I really struggled to actually find someplace to buy it. I was over the moon at the knitting and stitching show to find it at one of the booths. That being said it’s now taken me months and months to actually get round to sewing it! I have made version B however.

It wasn’t until now that I’ve had the motivation to have a go at version C. But the cooler weather has me reaching for comfortable, long sleeve tops. And having recently got my hands on this lovely mustard yellow 95% cotton /5% spandex blend I knew it was time to get a move on. I’ve made size 10 for bust and above, grading out to 12 at the waist and hips.

It is a really easy and straightforward pattern but I made one wee error. When I was sewing the neck seam with my twin needle I forgot to change my stitch from the narrow zig zag I had used previously. And because it was so narrow I didn’t notice for quite a while. If you’ve ever tried to unpick a fine stitch on jersey you’ll know that it it very easy to wreck your fabric or stretch it out of shape, so I decided to leave it be. Initially I thought there was more of a gather on the sleeve shoulder than I prefer,  but once I had it on, I think it looks quite nice. Though I may experiment next time and shave a bit off the top of the sleeve’s shoulder to reduce the gather.

It was so fast and easy, and really quite comfortable, that I thought I would immediately make a few more. But we’re just adopted a dog, Poppy,  so I’m not foreseeing much sewing time in the near future.

 

 

9 Responses to “In search of the perfect boat neck”

  1. Naomi October 23, 2016 at 7:45 pm #

    Your puppy is adorable!!!
    Well done on your boat neck top. And a great colour on you too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary October 23, 2016 at 7:47 pm #

      Thanks it’s currently my favorite color and very seasonal too – normally I buy fabric for the new seasons but don’t get around to sewing it until its spring/winter/summer etc!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Colesworth October 24, 2016 at 1:40 am #

    Great colour – Yep, looks like bluegingerdoll patterns may not be around any more! I got this on my search too, before the lark was out. I’ve used used this a number of times, and drafted out the gathers on the sleevehead for a plain sleeve too. I want to make a boat neck version with a lady skater skirt next ;o)

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary October 24, 2016 at 11:47 am #

      Ooo i like the idea of combining it with a lady skater skirt!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynsey Welch October 25, 2016 at 8:01 am #

    Super top, I love the colour, it looks great on you. Cute woofer too!

    Like

    • rosemary October 25, 2016 at 8:09 am #

      Thanks – I think its a great combination of pattern, fabric and color. Its really quite comfortable too!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Another Bonnie top | Thimble & Threads - November 5, 2016

    […] Girl Charlee (90% cotton and 10% spandex) and it feels wonderful. As I really loved the fit of my previous Bonnie, I kept the sizing exactly the same (size 10 for bust and above, grading out to 12 at the waist and […]

    Like

  2. #Top5Hits | Thimble & Threads - December 6, 2016

    […] of the year, I’ve made this top several times now and get tons of wear out of both version 1 & […]

    Like

  3. Bonnie Top | Thimble & Threads - May 13, 2017

    […] really love the Bonnie Top from Blue Ginger Doll and my previous versions in yellow and crazy geometric print get worn a lot. Because it is such a comfortable top I often reach for it […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

