#Top5Hits

6 Dec

1Last year I participated Crafting A Rainbow’s end-of-the-year sewing round-up,  looking back at sewing hits and misses, reflections and goals. It was really interesting to go back through all the projects of the year: I made 42 items in total! 34 for me and 8 for others (though several pairs of underwear which I counted as separate items so its not really that many things).

My choice of fabric and patterns, as well as my sewing is getting better. This year narrowing down to my Top 5 Hits was much harder. 4 out of the 5 top hits are patterns that I have made several times already this year and become wardrobe staples.

  • Ginger Jeans (version 1, 2 & 3) – I’ve made three pairs now and they feel like the biggest achievement ever!
  • Linden Sweater – This sweater never ceases to make me smile or to elicit exclamations from people about puffins! I’ve made myself two and my BFF one.
  • Cycling kit – This definitely took me outside my comfort zone but it was also so exciting to realize I can make my own gear. Especially as RTW cycling clothes for women can be quite boring or prohibitively expensive.
  • Biscayne blouse – The design of this top is just great and I’ve made myself three versions (1, 2 & 3).
  • Version C of the Bonnie Top – Like most of the 5 hits of the year, I’ve made this top several times now and get tons of wear out of both version 1 & 2.

Next week I’ll post my #Top5Misses….

 

5 Responses to “#Top5Hits”

  1. craftysewandsewindorset December 6, 2016 at 8:17 pm #

    This is a great idea…. Might have to ‘borrow’ this concept!!

    Like

    • rosemary December 6, 2016 at 8:26 pm #

      Its fun isn’t it? It’s all down to Gillian over at Crafting a Rainbow!

      Like

  2. gilliancrafts December 7, 2016 at 12:48 am #

    Thanks for joining in the Top 5! You look great in those warm colours and mustard tones – Do you feel like sewing has helped you narrow down your style?

    Like

    • rosemary December 7, 2016 at 10:17 am #

      Thanks – i really enjoy it! I think sewing has helped me develop some style. In terms of narrowing it down, that’s only really come in the last year or so. Sometimes I have an idea or see a pattern that I think is great but forget it really isn’t me. But I’m getting better at it and looking back through the years hits and misses really helps!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Year’s Resolutions | Thimble & Threads - January 1, 2017

    […] the last few weeks you may have seen my posts on the #Top5Hits and #Top5Misses from my sewing this year. And I have to say I’m really pleased with what […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

