Buttercup Bags

26 Dec

I’ve been slow this year to get excited for Christmas. Normally I’d have been sewing away – making pressies and decorations. But work’s been pretty stressful and I haven’t have much motivation. That all changed last night.

We’ve been struggling to think up ideas of Christmas pressies for G.’s two nieces . But I think we’ve hit upon a winner: the Buttercup Bag from Made-By-Rae. It’s a super easy (free) pattern to assemble and sew. And the only thing I had to buy for them was the metallic snaps. Because it requires so little fabric, I was able to find some  some fantastic combos in my stash which I thought would be perfect.

For the youngest (6 years old) I used the last scraps of rainbow colored zebras from my Maritime shorts for the outside of the purse and lined it with a lilac and white poka dot print.  I have to say I think this bag is so damn cute.

For the oldest I used some turquoise/teal baby cord combined with a really pretty floral lawn (left overs from a skirt and dress I made years ago). I decided to add a little embellishment:  using self made piping  and self covered buttons from the lining. While it’s not a cute as the other one, I hope it’s more suited to an 11 year old’s tastes.

3 Responses to “Buttercup Bags”

  1. Linda of Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!! December 27, 2016 at 6:01 pm #

    Cute! Love the piping!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jendavismiller December 28, 2016 at 2:27 pm #

    Completely different looks for two little girls, both adorable!

    Like

    • rosemary December 28, 2016 at 6:36 pm #

      Thanks! They loved them and I think the differences matched their ages and personalities well. Really pleased with the results and love how with the right details, the same pattern can produce such different looks.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

