New Year’s Resolutions

1 Jan

Over the last few weeks you may have seen my posts on the #Top5Hits and #Top5Misses from my sewing this year. And I have to say I’m really pleased with what I’ve done this year.  And looking back at my New Year’s Resolutions, I’ve done pretty good against them too.  I set myself 5 things to try: 1) Bras √ 2) Coats 3) Jeans √ 4) Cardigans √  5)Sportswear √. I didn’t get around to a coat , nor did I use up my fabric stash (in fact it’s grown so much I had to get more shelving) and I haven’t touched my knitting. But I’m still really happy to have ticked off the other things to try. So for 2017 my goals are:

  1. Make a coat: Seeing as I didn’t get to this while it was on my list last year and I’m really keen to learn some skills in this area, I decided that this should be at the top of my list. I’m dying to make myself a little tweed version of the Manteau Ernest from Republique du Chiffon, and of course  the Robson Coat pattern from Sewaholic remains on the list.
  2. Make a blazer: Similar to a coat I know – but because I’ve wanted to make myself one for ages and it would meet a different wardrobe need* I decided to make it a goal in its own right. I’m thinking of the Bellatrix blazer from Papercut – with a faux leather collar (which may prove totally incompatible with the pattern). Or the Gabby Woven Jacket from Sew Arc.
  3. Make more menswear! I’ve made G. a few shirts in this year (as well as in the past). And he love’s wearing things I’ve made him, so I decided to up my game and expand into other menswear, such as trousers and sweatshirts. I really love the look of Thread Theory’s patterns and plan to make the Jedediah Pants and Finlayson Sweater.
  4. Slowly replace all my store bought clothes (as they wear out) with Me-Made items. I bought myself very few things this year and did a great job replacing much of my very old and holey underwear with new Me-Made underwear. So over the next year any new clothes I might need* will be Me-Made (aside from socks, tights, shoes and rain gear).
  5. Try new things, learn new techniques and focus on improving my skills!

Bring on the New Year and plenty of sewing adventures!

*First world problems I know as I really don’t need any of these things. But it makes me happy so I’ll claim a mental health need.

2 Responses to “New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. Thimberlina January 9, 2017 at 7:47 am #

    The Jedediah pants are on my to do list too, they’re soon great versions out there to inspire. Aren’t our men lucky! If we get round to it that is! 😀

    Like

    • rosemary January 9, 2017 at 8:32 am #

      Hahha yes, last year he had to wait 6 month for a promised garment. This year, January seems to be all about sewing for other people. So hopefully I get to them in January or February!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

