Acorns

12 Mar

The oak tree is my best friend and I’s favorite tree. She has an amazing tattoo of oak leaves winding up her leg and I dream of having an oak tree spread across my back (except I am much to much of a wuss). So when I saw this fabric available for presale on Bizzy&Boo’s etsy page I knew I had to get some. It is ‘Fallen Acorn’ in a dusky green, organic jersey knit and it is lush.

Because the print is so wonderful on its own, I wanted a simple pattern that would let the fabric do all the talking. In the end I settled on the Kirsten Kimono Tee from maria Denmark which I’ve made myself a few times.

At Christmas I gave my BFF an acorn in a little box with a coded message along the lines of ‘a hint of what’s to come’. Pretty mischievous right?  This is number 4 of my post-Christmas sewing presents. Well the fabric was delayed in getting here, which actually suited me well as I haven’t been doing much sewing. But when it did arrive I was able to quickly whip up the Maria Denmark’s Kirsten Kimono Tee.

I’ve made it for myself a few times now and love the simplicity of the design and the shape. And I think it really shows off the fabric well.  I opted to use a matching neck band; finished the seams with the overlock stitch, and used a twin needle on the sleeves and hem. PS did I mention she’s a shit hot scientist?

Leave a Reply

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required!

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

Lulu Learns

Creating, Crafting, and Catching On.

Belle Citadel

In pursuit of craftyness

