A new skirt for all my tights

16 Mar

I really love tights. Particularly hose. screen-printed tights. I’ve got about 6 pairs. But very few things to wear with them. The other day I realised what I really needed was a nice little jean skirt. The moss skirt from Grainline Studios seemed like the perfect pattern.

While I was trying to make room in my fabric stash for the fabric I purchased at the Knitting and Stitching show the other week, I found a denim I had bought several years ago and deemed that it is the exact perfect color for the skirt I had in mind. The pattern itself was really lovely and the instructions super easy to follow. I made a size 6 which seemed to match my body measurements. I however made some aesthetic changes and a few additions to make it more like a jean skirt:

  • Flat fell seams and dark blue top stitching thread
  • Rear pockets and belt loops (borrowed from the Ginger jeans pattern)
  • Top stitching around the waist band and slightly on the back of the skirt along the side seams to just below the pockets – secured with a bar tack
  •  Jeans button and rivets

All in all I’m really pleased with how it turned out. I struggled a little with the button hole because of the thickness. In the end (after unpicking the failed button hole three times!) I had to abandon the idea of a  vertical button hole in favor of a horizontal one. It is also a wee bit snug across my belly but not uncomfortably so.

Best of all it looks great with all my favorite tights. And seeing as the weather doesn’t seem to know whether it is coming or going, I suspect they’ll be in use for a few more months anyway!

7 Responses to “A new skirt for all my tights”

  1. Lesley March 16, 2017 at 12:58 pm #

    Hold the phone – where do you get such cool tights?? Oh and the skirt is fabulous

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary March 16, 2017 at 1:08 pm #

      Thanks! The tights are from a brighton based company – their website is: https://www.hosetights.co.uk/

      I love their tights sooo much. So many great colors and the designs are amazing.

      Like

  2. Chris March 16, 2017 at 7:46 pm #

    What a timely reminder of this pattern – it looks really good in the denim!

    Like

    • rosemary March 16, 2017 at 8:02 pm #

      It’s a great pattern, already planning my next one.

      Like

  3. Lynsey Jane March 17, 2017 at 8:21 am #

    Fab skirt, love the top stitching and amazing tights! I can see why you want/need to show them off.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary March 17, 2017 at 8:35 am #

      Thanks so much, i’m really pleased with the accuracy of my top stitching.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bright | Thimble & Threads - May 5, 2017

    […]  used the moss skirt  pattern once before – making a jean skirt in size 6.  For this version however I didn’t want it quite as fitted so I made size 8 and […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

