Ginger jeans hack

5 Apr

At the moment the main thing I wear every day is ‘dog walking’ jeans. Ie the torn and dirty jeans I wear to take the dog for a walk every day. Not having any work has meant that I rarely gravitate to my dresses and nice blouses anymore. In fact if I’m going out and want to dress up, at the moment that means putting on my Ginger jeans (the only non dog jeans I have now). I love the Ginger jeans pattern and have made myself three pairs so far, one version with the low waist, straight legs and two with the high waist, skinny legs. I decided however it was time to hack it cause what I really want is a pair with low waist and skinny legs.

At the Knitting and Stitching show I got some really lovely dark very dark blue denim (50% cotton, 42% polyester & 3% elastane). To be honest I have no idea what kind of quality it is but I loved the color and feel of it.  I carefully merged the pattern lines of the two versions, which was much easier than I had expected. As before, I’ve made myself size 8 which works perfectly for me if I am using fabric with 3% stretch. They’re much tighter than comfort would dictate, but I’m hoping they’ll relax a bit? They are really well sewn so fingers crossed they loosen up otherwise I’ll be gutted.

5 Responses to “Ginger jeans hack”

  1. Lynsey Jane April 6, 2017 at 10:01 am #

    They look great, I love skinny jeans. Gingers are on my ‘to sew’ list, when I’m feeling brave enough!!

    Like

    • rosemary April 7, 2017 at 5:04 pm #

      Thanks! They are not nearly as hard as you probably think they are – plus there is a sew-along which I found really helpful for my first few pairs. Good luck with yours!

      Like

  2. ellegeemakes April 7, 2017 at 3:24 pm #

    They look fabulous on you! I’m a fan of skinny jeans too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosemary April 7, 2017 at 5:04 pm #

      Thank you!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Choosing the right denim for my ginger jeans | Thimble & Threads - September 22, 2017

    […] made myself three pairs of Ginger Jeans which fit perfectly (vs 1, 2&3), but my fourth pair were ridiculously too small; which left me puzzled. Aside from the obvious possibility that […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

Sew Sarah Smith

Sewing! Liberating the mind & body and soothing the soul one garment at a time

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of my sewing in 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY Dressmaking with Emily ❤️

mensew

One mans adventures in sewing...

swarm of chickadees

a sewing blog with a nonsense title

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Pickledowndilly

From one stitch to another!

Emma and her Machine

Adventures in Sewing

HazelJae Designs

My adventures in fashion design

