#makemenswear

G. has been after me to make him some new shirts for a few months now. To be fair most of his shirts that I’ve made him (which now dominate his wardrobe) have been patched and mended and re-patched and re-mended. He really is in need of some new shirts.

As McCall’s 6044 is tried and tested and much loved, I really see no reason to try a different pattern. As usual I’ve made version C, this time out of an indgo cotton chambray from Dragonfly Fabrics. The fabric washed really well and feels very soft.

There isn’t too much to say about the construction of the shirt – the pattern is quite straightforward and instructions are easy to follow. I used French Seams on the sleeves and sides, and flat felled seams on the shoulders. I tried to infused a little creativity by using a different fabric for the facing of the collar band and cuffs. The chambray bird print I used to make my McCalls 4769 dress seemed complimentary to the polka dot both in color and texture.  But I forgot to change my bobbin to a light blue, so the stitching is very obvious on the inside. But I still think it looks pretty good. I think one of my New Year’s resolution will be to branch out from the staple men’s shirt and make more menswear (#makemenswear).

 

6 thoughts on “#makemenswear

Add yours

      1. Ah yes I looked at it too. But as it’s so similar, I decided to stick with the McCalls pattern. Look forward to seeing yours when they’re done!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Regencygentleman

Dressing for a Regency ball (and other events) by Mr. Philip Elton

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Fa Sew La

My adventures in sewing a handmade wardrobe.

english girl at home

A Sewing & Knitting Blog, Made in Birmingham, England

IngeMaakt

Wat maakt Inge?

~E Made This!

Upping my sewing skills one seam at a time

Redhead Thread

Adventures in sewing

JUST PATTERNS

Sewing Patterns, helping you create a wardrobe of clothes you will cherish forever!

mumokio

A record of some of my sewing projects since 2016

Sew sleep deprived

Lesley blogging about her sewing projects

Wendy Ward

designer | writer | teacher | maker

wasted weekends

misadventures in crafting.

Self Assembly Required

DIY dressmaking + crafts with Emily

SewAndrew

here’s what I’m sewing...

dreaming of avonlea

We'll begin with a spin, travelling in the world of my creation - Willy Wonka

pigeonwishes wholesale fabric buttons

Eco friendly fabric, digital printing and bio resin buttons wholesaler supplier